↑ Return to eResources

Databases

slk2

The State Library of Kansas provides access to a variety of online databases and resources for residents of Kansas.

Click HERE for a complete list of resources or visit the pages below.

Databases can also be accessed with your Kansas Library Card through the Kansas Library Card website http://kslc.org/ Contact the Abilene Public Library about signing up for a Kansas Library Card.

Explore Our Resources – a complete list of all our databases with descriptions and direct links to each:
http://www.kslib.info/librarians/eor.html

Student Research Central – specially selected for Middle and High School Students and Teachers:
http://www.kslib.info/librarians/eorstudent.html

Research for Kids – highlighting resources for Elementary School:
http://www.kslib.info/librarians/eorkids.html

Job/Skills Training & College Prep

Learning Express: Learning Centers by subject (up to college level), computer software tutorials, and practice tests for college and occupational exams and the GED. Includes practice tests for military, law enforcement, teaching, and nursing and many more! The Job & Career Accelerator section provides help with resumes, interview skills, and exploring occupations.  Registration required (can …

View page »

Foreign Language

Mango Languages: Courses in over 40 languages (basic & complete lessons available). Creating a username and password is optional, but doing so will allow you to pick up where you left off between learning sessions.

View page »

Health & Medical

Consumer Health Complete: Browsable medical database including drug information, topic fact sheets, medical dictionaries, and ebooks. For more Medical Databases try: MEDLINE: Information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health: Research nursing, allied health, alternative & complementary medicine …

View page »

Genealogy & History

HeritageQuest: Genealogical resource to search federal census records (1790-1930), family and local histories, and more. _____________________________________________________________________________ Genealogy Connect: Collection of nearly 600 genealogy research and reference publications in searchable PDF format. _____________________________________________________________________________ History Reference Center: Articles, full text of historical documents, biographies, historical photos, maps, and videos. _____________________________________________________________________________ Kansas History, Territorial through Civil War Years, …

View page »

Auto Repair

Auto Repair Reference Center: Access to repair, maintenance, and service information.

View page »

Business, Technology, & Legal

Small Business Reference Center: Business basics, start-up kits, industry information, and access to ebooks on a variety of business and career topics. _____________________________________________________________________________ Business Source Premier: Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. _____________________________________________________________________________ Computer Source: Latest information and trends in technology. _____________________________________________________________________________ Learning Express: Learning Centers by subject …

View page »

Books & Literature

  NoveList: Explore authors or a specific book to discover read-a-like recommendations, book discussion guides, reviews, and more. _____________________________________________________________________________ Tumblebooks for Kids: Read aloud and read along ebooks. No software or login required. _____________________________________________________________________________ EBSCO Book Collection: Non-fiction: Online access to a variety of non-fiction for all ages. Books are read within your internet browser. _____________________________________________________________________________ …

View page »

General Research, Periodicals, Journals

Encyclopedia Britannica Online (select a version): Public Library Edition Academic Library Edition School Library Editions _____________________________________________________________________________ MasterFile Premier: Delivers articles, reference books, and an extensive image collection for every subject area, including access to Consumer Reports. _____________________________________________________________________________ Academic Search Premier: Scholarly multi-disciplinary research database. _____________________________________________________________________________ Student Research Center: Browse or search topics from current events …

View page »

Agriculture & Environmnet

Agricola: Research agricultural information dating back to 1970. Contains records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. _____________________________________________________________________________ GreenFile: Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

View page »

error: Content is protected !!